top of page
  • Writer's pictureBesa

Stream side invasive replacement


Plant combo;

fragrant sumac

beak grain

garden phlox


There is an ugly stream bank behind my garden. It is choked with honeysuckle, rose of Sharon, winter creeper, Japanese hops, poison ivy, and trash. This stream side is a highway for wildlife around the neighborhood. I have seen woodchucks, raccoon, skunks, and opossum use it and signs of their tracks and burrows. The invasive species, trash, and poison ivy must be removed but what to put in their place? A stream bank is a fragile place where soil must be protected so that it doesn’t erode. Chemicals and compost piles should be kept away from the water to keep pollutants out of the water and from harming any wildlife using the stream.


I slowly removed the weeds being careful not to disturb too much soil in any area before replanting. In the holes where the honeysuckle came out I put in fragrant sumac. Fragrant sumac is a short bushy shrub that has winter berries for the birds and a beautiful red fall color. On the bare ground where the winter creeper was removed I threw out seeds of beak grain grass. Beak grain is an aggressive but graceful grass that requires part shade. In the summer beak grain is a vibrant green and sways delicately in the breeze. To finish off the restoration I also planted a few plugs of garden phlox. Garden phlox also likes part shade and can colonize a large area. The fragrant spring blooms attract many pollinators and make it very enjoyable to walk along the creek. These three aggressive, colonizing plants compliment each other well, providing interest throughout the seasons, and will completely fill in a shady creek bank.


The shady creek bank at the end of my garden has been transformed from an eye sore to a haven for wildlife and a very pleasant place to be. I must keep up constant monitoring for baby invasives moving in from bird droppings or washing in from the water flow. I always bring a bag to pick up the trash that has floated in from the street storm sewer or the neighbors over flowing cans. Like all urban plantings, my work is never done. It brings me peace to look at this small piece of land and know that I am doing my best to make it a better place.

62 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Diana Jim Oleskevich
Diana Jim Oleskevich
Apr 02, 2021

thank you Amy dear - Care for your stream bank is endearing...I find joy and satisfaction in caring for our small back yard, attractingn pollinators and birds, squirrrels too, feeding our fish in small pond, pulling up invasives...work and service that comes back 100-fold...

Like

Blog

bottom of page