top of page
Writer's pictureBesa

My Mentor, Terri Brandt

Updated: Jun 19, 2020


I was lucky to spend 13 years working with Terri at Shaw Nature Reserve. The best learning experience is to be immersed in a workplace filled with knowledgeable coworkers and curious volunteers. Just sitting in the office I picked up so much knowledge from questions being asked and answered. Terri is a treasure trove of knowledge about native plants. She knows when to collect the seeds, how to grow the plants, the best way to arrange the plants in the garden, and how to care for a healthy sustainable garden. All the gardens in the Whitmire Wildflower Garden have been touched by Terri and it shows. Terri also supported me as a blossoming adult. She was always there to encourage and support me. She included me in her circle of friends even though I was just the inexperienced kid. She knew when I was stressed about an upcoming event and would bring me chocolates. Even now that I have moved on to my own business and she has retired we keep in touch, go on trips to the Black River together, and visit each other's gardens. I am so lucky to have Terri in my life and have learned much from her.

67 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Diana Jim Oleskevich
Diana Jim Oleskevich
Feb 16, 2021

we often have mentors so we can learn, and become a wise woman teacher-mentor to other "inexperienced kids"...pass it on generously - share LOVE of Nature!! Hooray and joy!

Like

marilyn236w
Aug 14, 2020

What a beautiful tribute, and so true!

Like

Blog

bottom of page