top of page
Writer's pictureBesa

Passing the Torch

Updated: Jun 19, 2020


Does there come a point in everyone's career where a bunch of their mentors retire at once? I have felt that way recently. My coworkers at Shaw Nature Reserve, Terri Brandt and James Trager and also the director, John Beher. My friend Tim Wood who helped me land my first independent landscaping job. Sam Faith, who has mentored me in my volunteer interests in outdoor education. It is hard not to feel uprooted as the people I'm used to conversing with regularly find new interests. It is nice to have a support network of native plant nerds to bounce questions off.


I guess this means it is my turn to become the mentor to someone just getting started in native plant landscaping. How does one become a mentor? If you are a mentor do you even know it? Having mentors was so valuable to me in my career so far, keeping me on track, encouraging me to push myself to do more, giving me the courage to move beyond my comfort zone. I want to give that same opportunity to someone else. Maybe only for the selfish reason of seeing the native plant movement continue beyond when I am no longer able to help.

43 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


janis.schweitzer
janis.schweitzer
Jun 19, 2020

You are my mentor, encouraging me to be become ever more involved in promoting the environmental value of native plants and chemical free gardening.

Like

Blog

bottom of page